Terry Pratchett: Wintersmith


Tiffany Aching put one foot wrong, made one little mistake … and now the spirit of winter is in love with her. He gives her roses and icebergs, says it with avalanches and showers her with snowflakes — which is tough when you’re 13, but also just a little bit … cool.

And just because the Wintersmith wants to marry you is no excuse for neglecting your chores. So Tiffany must look after Miss Treason, who’s 113 and has far too many eyes, learn the secret of Boffo, catch Horace
the cheese, stop the gods from seeing her in the bath — ‘Crivens!’ — Oh, yes and be helped by the Nac Mac Feegles – whether she wants it or not.

But if Tiffany doesn’t work it all out, there will never be another  springtime.

Tiffany Aching book 3; I liked it better than book 2 (A Hat Full of Sky) but not quite as much as the first book of the subseries (The Wee Free Men). Somehow it still feels like Pratchett said most of what he wanted to say in terms of “witch in training meets European folk / fairytales and mythology” in book 1, though — well, with the obvious exception of that quote about losing your personality if you lose your memories, which ripped right through me and made me swallow hard, knowing that it must have come straight from Pratchett’s heart. That said, at least we get more of Granny Weatherwax and Nanny Ogg here … a Discworld Witches book somehow isn’t a Witches book without them, no matter whether they’re supposed to be the protagonists or not. (Especially so, of course, Granny.)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Literature Reviews Uncategorized

J.R.R. Tolkien: The Hobbit – Performed by Andy Serkis

Like its magnificent sequel, The Hobbit is, I think, many things to many people: the first exposition of the universe that would become Middle-earth; prelude to The Lord of the Rings; a bite-sized visit to Middle-earth whenever you don’t feel up to the full blow of the War of the Ring(s); one of the most […]

Read More
Literature Reviews

Karen Wynn Fonstad: The Atlas of Tolkien’s Middle-Earth

Blurb: “Find your way through every part of J.R.R. Tolkien’s great creation, from the Middle-earth of The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings to the undying lands of the West … The Atlas of Tolkien’s Middle-earth is an essential guide to the geography of Middle-earth, from its founding in the Elder Days – as […]

Read More
Literature Reviews

J.R.R. Tolkien: The Lord of the Rings – Performed by Andy Serkis

In another online community, we recently talked about the new Andy Serkis Lord of the Rings recordings.  Well, it turns out that the pull of The Ring is still mighty strong, for however much it may have been destroyed in Mount Doom. I had barely gotten my hands on these audios and I found I […]

Read More
%d bloggers like this: